Using Project Stages

Project stages in Motion.io enable you to organize related tasks into a single stage to help clients understand when, how, and why tasks should be completed. As an added benefit, upon building stages into your Motion.io projects, you can create automated workflows to ensure a seamless customer experience and reduce the number of manual tasks, emails, and follow-up meetings required of your team.

This article will detail everything you need to know about using project stages in Motion.io and provide guidance on setting them up.

👋 Tip: Click here to learn more about setting up automations for project stages in Motion.io.

How Project Stages Work

Upon creating a new project in Motion.io, you're automatically brought to the Tasks page of that project and will see two buttons near the center of your screen to create a task or add a project stage. To create a project stage, click the "Add Stage" button.

After creating your project stage and giving it a name, clicking the gray "Create Task" button within the stage will automatically assign the task you create to it.

📣 Note: While you can create tasks without adding them to a project stage, doing so helps keep clients informed and projects organized while enabling you to set up powerful automations.

Reordering Project Stages & Tasks

After creating stages and tasks within a Motion.io project, you can organize them in your client's portal however you'd like. Tasks can be dragged from one stage to another, and stages can be re-ordered in whatever manner you'd like them to appear in your client's portal.

Stage Statuses

Once you've invited clients to a project and they begin completing tasks in their portal, the three project stage statuses inform your team how the project is progressing and enable further optimization of your client experience. The three project stage statuses are:

Active: Any project stage with at least one active task (i.e., tasks that have been assigned and sent to a client but not yet completed) will be automatically set to the “Active” status and displayed with a breakdown in your Project Dashboard.

Completed: When all client tasks in a stage are complete, the status of that project stage will automatically update to “Completed.” Tasks within a stage marked as “Completed” status are visible to clients in their portals.

Archived: Regardless of a stage’s current status (and whether or not clients completed the tasks within it), you can hide stages to prevent them from appearing in your client’s portal. To archive a stage, click the three dots on the far right side and select “Archive/Hide Stage” from the dropdown.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us